As it’s hot and sunny…

As it’s hot and sunny and I’m actually able to enjoy it on my one day off after working the past six, I thought I’d do a bit of blogging… Well at least try anyway. I actually hand wrote the first copy of this, my laptop is on its last legs and taking outside is probably just a step too far. Handwriting things makes you think about what you’re actually putting on the page though, like, “is this worth me writing?” Or “no one will care if I leave that out”. Hopefully though you will care about this post as I think it’s something a lot of you might feel a resonance with. 

After graduating in July last year I travelled for a month using my life savings and came back with a whole host of amazing memories but not a lot else. I was back home, I had little money and no job and only one or two friends that were close by. September soon came round and I found a job in retail which (unless you’ve worked in retail) is looked down on as not being a “proper job” – I’m guessing that’s because I’m not using my degree. That is a fair point although good luck trying to find someone I work with that doesn’t have a degree – everything from art to psychology to business studies. 

However there are those people that managed to get a job in their chosen field and I congratulate you whole heartedly as we all know how difficult that can be. One of my best friends did just that. While I was moving back home and readjusting to home life she was moving into a house, making new friends and starting an amazing job and I can’t say I wasn’t jealous. 

It’s been nearly a year since I started my job and although sometimes the hours aren’t great and rude customers leave clothes on the floor and there’s never enough staff, I wouldn’t have changed it for the world. Last year wasn’t the best for me for a variety of reasons and so to finally have more friends, a job with incredible people that are honestly like a little family to me (I don’t even care how cheesy that is, I know they’d all agree), to be happy to go to work (and offer to go in on my day off must mean I’ve got a good thing going) but just to be generally happy is a really great thing. Having the job you think you should have (or a job others think you should have) may be okay for a while but if it’s not making you happy, what’s the point? All the love and hugs to my best friend who left her job for exactly that reason – I have every faith you’ll find something even better. Shout out to the people that got the job they wanted and love it by the way, congrats and full steam ahead for you!! 

So just because I may not be using my degree now doesn’t mean I never will, and I don’t want to use it if the job it gets me makes me miserable. So if you’re in the same boat try not to be swayed by others because if you’re happy and making some kind of living/working towards something else be it moving out, travel or another venture – you do you. You’re doing better than you think. I’m so grateful to my little work family for helping me realise that, thank you. 

Leave a Reply

