August Favourites..!

Somehow it’s September. I know days, weeks and months pass all the time but August seems to have disappeared so quickly… maybe I’m just getting old. Welcome back, thank you for tuning in again! Now, since my blog doesn’t have a solid theme at the moment I thought I’d just write about things that interest me (and hopefully you guys too!) until I find a more permanent idea, or until I travel again.

So today I thought I’d take an idea I’ve seen my favourite YouTube vloggers do and give you an “August Favourites” post. This is basically just me talking to you about a few things I’ve really liked throughout august and giving a little review. I’ll put links to everything I talk about (if I can) so that you can find/order/download etc., if you find you love them too! Enjoy!

Okay so my first favourite thing during August is the song “All About That Bass” by Meghan Trainor, which I’ve heard in various places the past week which I love because it definitely deserves recognition. I first heard it in Rome whilst I was travelling and it quickly became our ‘getting ready’ song for our nights out (we may also have played it on repeat for weeks on end… don’t judge, I know you’ll do it too). My reasons for loving it so much are pretty simple – the lyrics are PERFECT for making you feel less crap about yourself and, as you sing and dance along (it’s got a super catchy beat, also why it’s so great) it may help you start to believe you’re not as terrible as you think you are. The video is also so much fun to watch – the cute pastel colour scheme is just adorable, the flower crowns, polka dots, dolls house and tea set all add to this cotton candy covered video and honestly, I wish I’d been in it. As well as the pretty colours and wonderful love-your-body lyrics, the dancing just makes me want to join in! The slight rock ‘n’ roll vibe mixed with pop just makes it a great song and I know it’ll be stuck in your head in no time!

All About That Bass - Meghan Trainor

photo from Google Images

Here’s the music video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7PCkvCPvDXk

Aaaaand the link to iTunes where you can download it from September 28:
https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/all-about-that-bass-single/id891435070

Now onto my second favourite thing, still kind of linked with travelling, it was my favourite thing in Mallorca. It’s basically garlic mayonnaise or “Aioli” and you eat it with bread as an appetiser before your meal and seriously, I couldn’t get enough of it. We had multiple conversations about how delicious it was and how to make it in each restaurant we visited and I’m determined to make it now I’m back home – I’ve even bought garlic. I’m committed. But yeah, garlic mayonnaise – who knew?! It is super simple to make too (I’ve been doing my research) although the way we had it in Mallorca (the best way) was made without eggs so I’ll be following that recipe.

  • To serve 4 (or 1 depending how much you love it…) you will need:
  • 4 peeled garlic cloves
  • A teaspoon of salt
  • Lemon juice (from a quarter of a lemon)
  • ½ cup of olive oil
  • A whisk or a food processor

First you will need to crush the garlic and salt until you have a thin paste, you can use the food processor for this or a mortar and pestle if you have one. Now transfer the garlic mixture into a bowl and drizzle in the oil as you whisk. You can now pour in the lemon juice and add any leftover oil, making sure to whisk constantly. You may want to put it in the fridge for a little while (15-30 mins) for it to fully emulsify and to chill slightly.

http://www.kitchenkonfidence.com/2011/03/saffron-aioli

I suggest you make it too if only to make me seem like less of a crazy mayonnaise lover…

Finally, my last ‘favourite’ from August would have to be the amazingly funny YouTuber, Miranda Sings (actual name Colleen Ballinger) who posts two videos a week. They usually consist of ‘Miranda’ singing badly, giving “tutorials” and collaborating with other well-known YouTube stars. Some of her most watched videos include a parody music videos of Nicki Minaj’s ‘Starships’ (5,893,762 views) and Katy Perry’s ‘California Gurls’ (3,680710 views), however two of my personal favourites are ‘Slurpee Bath’ and her original song ‘Where My Bae’s At’, both of which are also some of her most watched videos. I’m at a loss as to how describe Miranda’s channel in a way which truly showcases her comedic talent so I think the best thing to do it just direct you straight to her so you can see for yourselves!

Slurpee Bath: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zJ-4muRmqBM&list=UU1OFDlfdRb6ma1ZGZd07gWA

Most popular video – Nicki Minaj’s ‘Starships’:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EeNXtRk9Wpo&list=UU1OFDlfdRb6ma1ZGZd07gWA

Okay well that’s all for this little post, let me know what you thought of it and I’ll be back with soon!

3 thoughts on “August Favourites..!

Leave a Reply

