I know I’ve been AWOL…

Hey everyone, I know I’ve been AWOL since coming back from my travels but it’s taken a while to get back into the swing of things here – for one, it’s much too cold and rainy here and I don’t like it at all. Anyway, I thought I’d try and keep writing things here mainly for my benefit but hopefully you’ll like the things I come up with.

For this post I thought i’d write down a couple of interrelated thoughts I had whilst being away, and I hope that it’ll be somehow relevant to your lives too because I know I can’t be the only one at this in-between stage.

I think I’ll start with this:

“We all have two lives. The second starts when we realise we only have one.”

This quote, by Tom Hiddleston, has resonated with me since I came across it. I think it’s something that once you’ve seen it and you’ve let it affect the way you think about your life, you’re never quite the same. Whilst travelling around Europe this summer thoughts such as this one kept popping into my mind. The idea of living the life you really want to live, rather than doing something or being somewhere you think you should be or because you think (or you know) that’s what others want you to do, is really important. At the end of the day, this is your life – you only have one, don’t waste it trying to please someone else – they should be concentrating on making their life the best it can be too!

So whether that means leaving your stable but draining job to pursue a dream, looking for jobs you know you’re over qualified for just to save some money before travelling the world or something else –  I say go for it. It’s scary and some people won’t agree with your choices (they’ll nag you and it couldn’t be more annoying or off-putting) but stick with it. There’s a phrase that says we’re always waiting for something; whether it’s waiting for Friday, waiting for winter, waiting until “one day” – well why wait any longer? Time doesn’t stop for anyone.

Sitting on the beach in Mallorca, watching the sunset, Sophia and I would answer “life questions” – you know the ones that make you think about your morals and your life values and how you could be a better version of yourself? Some blew our minds a little too much though, so maybe we’ll work up to those. But anyway, you know the ones I mean. For one thing it’s a great way to really get to know someone but it’s also a perfect way to get to know yourself, making you think about things perhaps you hadn’t thought of before. I know that for me, it helped reaffirm some of the choices I’ve made recently because I’m sure, just like many of you, I’ve been debating many things and the “what am I doing” question has cropped up more than its fair share of times. But sitting on that beach, it cleared my mind and I think I know the direction I want my life to take. So you may not have a beach to sit on or a sunset to watch that’ll help with your mind-clearing process but, whatever way you think about your life, just remember that you only have one chance.

Leave a Reply

