Since you’re joining me…

Seeing as this is only my second post, I thought I’d give you a little more info about the trip I’m planning (since you’re joining me I guess it’s only polite). I’m attempting InterRailing across Europe with my best friend, we both need to catch a break and this seemed to be the perfect time. Friday night was meant to be our “let’s plan and book everything night” but my God were we overestimating ourselves! We managed to book Rome as the first city, which was exciting but a little disheartening seeing as we didn’t accomplish quite as much as we’d have liked. Still, we’re going somewhere for now at least!
While I think of it, a quick tip – if you’re thinking of doing InterRailing too, be aware that you can’t use the pass in your own country, meaning you have to fly to your first destination. At least that’s what we found – do comment below if you have an alternatives/ways round that.
So yes, Rome is first on the list. Then we’re hoping to go to Verona for Juliet’s House (I want to write her a letter – I’m a romantic, what can I say?!) and then we’re heading to Milan for a couple of days because visiting Venice was much too expensive (it’s still on my bucket list of places to go though, simply because it looks so interesting and beautiful). Originally, we’d started with a list of near enough 12 countries that we’d always longed to see but time restrictions and money constraints quickly put us in our place. So until things are booked all the cities I mention are merely hopes and dreams for the time being. The next few days and weeks should change all that though!
(I’d say if you’re planning a similar trip, make a list of places you want to go and then half it. And maybe half it again and that might be more realistic…)

If you have any recommendations of places to visit in the Italian cities I mentioned do let me know! Or if you know of any restaurants/secret hideaways/bars/hostels – you name it, i’m interested so nothing is too irrelevant. Grazie!

5 thoughts on “Since you’re joining me…

  1. rhiydwi says:

    Hi! Stumbled across your blog while searching for interrailing (I’m planning a similar little trip myself, though not Italy!) and I’m looking forward to reading more posts 🙂 Last year I lived in Italy for 6 months and actually found Venice to be cheaper (and much more interesting!) than Milan! As long as you distance yourself a bit from the main squares for restaurants, bars etc, you could totally make it on a budget.

    Like

    • sophieahollister says:

      Ooh really! Yeah we’re starting in Italy and then going to a couple of other places so hopefully my writing won’t bore you! I look forward to reading your posts too! That’s good to know about Venice, would you recommend anywhere to stay/visit?

      Like

      • rhiydwi says:

        There are a bunch of cheap “camping” sites which rent out cabins on “mainland” Venice – the one I stayed at most was called Camping Serenissima. It’s a 15min bus journey from the real tourist area but the bus is really cheap and runs til quite late. I ended up only paying €12 per night during peak season to share a cabin with 2 friends which was an absolute steal compared to the prices everywhere else! Venice is definitely worth a visit if you can manage it, even if it’s just for a day!

        Like

Leave a Reply

